top of page
Suche
  • aliciagoetze

My last week in Heswall

Aktualisiert: 9. Okt. 2021

After Love Wirral we all needed to catch up on some sleep. Afterwards we sorted out all the material we used or didn’t use and put it back into boxes to store it all.

Tuesday evening, I got invited to spend the evening with three people from our 18-30s Bible group and we made a “Harry Potter-Night” with typical sweets, a quiz and of course one of the movies. We’d planned this for so long and I was happy we managed to do it before my flight back home.

On Wednesday, I met up with another leader for lunch. We went to a Tapas-Bar in Heswall I haven’t been before and it was really good! Besides from the food I also really enjoyed spending time with her again. I then spent the evening with the vicar’s family. We had some tea together, played Uno and chatted. That was such a nice time!


On Thursday, a young person and I went to West Kirby to have some breakfast. In the evening the 18-30s group met up. We had a lovely meal and played a lot of games. For some of us it was the first time to see each other in person after seven months of zoom sessions and I was glad we did!


On Friday, I finished packing and watched a little bit of the Olympics. In the evening, my host parents and I had a “typical evening” together. We had a nice meal, played “Ticket to Ride” and watched some episodes of “Friends”. That was perfect!



Saturday morning the three of us walked to Hilbre Island. It is really important to watch the tide times because you don’t want to end up stuck on the island. We started at low tide at 8 o' clock in the morning and we were nearly on our own. Walking to Hilbre Island had been on my bucket list since day one and I was happy to be able to tick it off.

In the evening we had a little Farewell-Party. I invited the youth team (although sadly not everyone could come) and the vicar’s family. We had a nice BBQ, with especially nice puddings, played Viking Chess in the garden and spent the rest of the evening chatting. It was so lovely to see everyone together for one last time!


On the Sunday, I couldn’t postpone the final goodbyes anymore. My host parents and I went on one last walk through the Dales in Heswall down to the beach (one of my favourite walks) and afterwards took part in the service where the vicar’s wife prayed for me. I then had to leave during the last song because I needed to go to the airport. I gave all my favourite people one last big hug and Stephen and I then drove off to Manchester.


The flight was without any complications and only a few hours later and I got warmly welcomed by my parents in Berlin. So yeah, after seven months abroad, I am back in Germany. I am still reflecting on my time in the UK (and will continue to reflect) but will follow this up with a more detailed post about my (faith-) journey in general soon.


58 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

My faith journey

Love Wirral

Beitrag: Blog2_Post
bottom of page