top of page
Suche
  • aliciagoetze

Holy Week and Easter

Aktualisiert: 9. Okt. 2021


The whole week was quite sunny and I enjoyed being able to sit down on a bench for a longer period of time without freezing. Since the 29th of March we are now allowed to meet up to five other people outside. That gives me the opportunity to finally see more people at once. On Tuesday, my supervisor invited the Youth Leadership Team to an afternoon teatime in her garden. I also had a lovely meal in their gazebo on Wednesday.

 

Maundy Thursday

On this day I went to Liverpool with two people from the Youth Leadership Team to see the "River of Light Trail", an outdoor illuminated art gallery along the waterfront.

 

Good Friday

I used the oppurtinity to be part of my first service, being actually in the church buildung. This was a rather traditional one: the crucifixion in the four gospels were read and after each reading there was a prayer and a time of silence.

In the afternoon I made some "hot cross buns" which are traditionally eaten on Good Friday. These spiced and yeasted buns are made with raisins or currants and are marked with a cross on top, representing the crucifixion of Jesus. The spices inside the buns symbolise the spices put on the body of Jesus after he died. There are many theories on the origin of the bun. Whatever story is true, some people still believe that:

-Hot cross buns can ward off sickness. -Hot cross buns baked on Good Friday will stay fresh for a year. -According to Irish tradition, if two people share hot cross buns, they will remain good friends through the entire year ("half for you and half for me, between us two, good luck shall be").

 

Holy Saturday

Ordinarily the people of the church would be gathering with Christians from other churches in Heswall for a Good Friday Walk of Witness. This year they set up a route for people to walk on their own or in small groups. The route was available all week-end, so I decided to go on Holy Saturday.

Going up the main road in upper Heswall the tour started at the Quaker Meeting Room and continued to the Methodist’s church, the United Reformed Church, and back via the Church of the Good Shepherd to end in the garden outside the Roman Catholic Church. At each station there was a Bible passage to read and the following questions you were encouraged to reflect on: What does this particular Bible story invite you to: a) GIVE THANKS to God for? b) ASK God for? c) Do For OTHERS? On the third day Jesus rose from the dead. What does this mean for you and for the world?

 

Easter Sunday

Alleluia, Christ is risen. He is risen indeed! In the morning, my host family and I were part of the service in church. This was totally different to the one on Good Friday. I enjoyed both of them but prefered this more modern one on Easter. If you want to watch it, here's the link of the livestream: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NNWEn0ayk4

After the service we had a "roast dinner" together. (I went for breaded augine instead of the lamb ;)). As a dessert we ate some of my selfmade carrot cake.

In the evening I was part of the Easter Praise in church, which was basically the same service as the one in the morning, but this time involved young people.


From next week on, we will run our Youth groups in person. Inside-bubbles of 15 people are allowed, but we will stay outside whenever possible. We will also re-start a group called "Adventure", which is a lesson for the Year-6s at one of Heswall's primary schools. I am so looking forward to all the things that are coming up and will of course keep you updated.

60 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

My faith journey

My last week in Heswall

Love Wirral

Beitrag: Blog2_Post
bottom of page