top of page
Suche
  • aliciagoetze

Mid-term conference and trip to Chester


While I am writing this blog entry, rain is pouring down. I write this as if rain were a rarity in England but over the last few weeks it actually has been. So fortunately, I was able to spend a lot of time outside and, among other things, tried the famous icecream in Parkgate.


During the last two weeks the mid-term conference of Time for God (my English organisation) took place and I really enjoyed it! I definitely missed seeing everyone in person because there is no possibility for chats in between the session. However, our field-officers have put so much work in to the conference and I don't think it could have been any better via zoom. You can see the programme in the picture, it's hard to decide which part was my favourite.

On the 30th of April, I went on my first little trip and took the bus to Chester. The city is the historic capital of the county of Cheshire north of the River Dee and is one of the best preserved walled cities in the country. Chester is around 2000 years old and was the most important city in England in Roman times. Many relics of Roman times remain today, including the weir that regulates the water level of the river, the 'Cross' where four main roads meet and the remains of an amphitheatre. Chester is also famous for its 'Rows', medieval timber-framed colonnades at storey height.


Last Sunday, I got invited to the German Church of Liverpool and we had a small but lovely service in the garden of the church buildung. As it was Cantata Sunday, we sang a lot and I really enjoyed that! I realise that my faith is currently mainly in English, so the German service was strange at first. But a few homey feelings also came up and I hope I will be able to join again soon.

Meanwhile, more than half of my time here in Heswall is already over and I find myself thinking a lot about the end already. The application for university is due, we have been asked to book our return flights and my succesor has already been chosen. But: I'll try to make the best out of the remaining months - there's still a lot I want to experience and now with the restrictions being lifted I finally can!

37 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

My faith journey

Love Wirral

Beitrag: Blog2_Post
bottom of page