top of page
Suche
  • aliciagoetze

The last days of 2020

Aktualisiert: 10. Okt. 2021



Christmas table with Christmas Crackers

24.12.-26.12.2020: Christmas was lovely. I enjoyed spending time with my family, even though I didn’t get to see all of them. I added a small British gadget to our Christmas table: Christmas crackers! These are festive table decorations that make a snapping sound when pulled open, and often contain a small gift and a joke.

Monday, 28.12.2020: my parents and I had just come back from our Christmas-Trip. We sat at the table and were reading Christmas cards when I received an e-Mail: “Your flight to Manchester on 30.12.2020 has been cancelled.” I couldn’t believe it. In 36 hours I was supposed to take that flight and now it was cancelled. Luckily, my father stayed calm and saw the opportunity of rebooking the flight. I checked in on a flight, 31st December.

Tuesday, 29.12.2020: The next morning, we sat at the table again and were eating breakfast when I received an e-Mail: “Your flight to Manchester on 31.12.2020 has been cancelled.” The next three hours everyone was looking for an alternative flight, phoning with different airlines or supporting me in an emotional way. (Thank you!) Finding a flight was more complicated than one might think. Due to Brexit and the need for a visa, it was important to get into the UK before the deadline of 31st. But I was able to book a new flight.


Wednesday, 30.12.2020: This day was all about packing. My luggage was supposed to weight 23 kilogram maximum and ended up with 22.9 kg. Well done, I’d say! ;)


Thursday, 31.12.2020, Departure day: My parents and I woke up early to have one last breakfast together. After that we took the bus to the new airport in Berlin. (Who would have thought we would experience the opening and even fly from there?) It was a nice morning. The sun was rising behind the airport building and I couldn’t believe everything had worked out and I was actually going to be away for the next 7 months.


The airport was empty so I got through the security check quickly. Six hours later (after a short stop in Frankfurt) I landed safely in Manchester. My supervisor's husband picked me up at the airport. We drove to Heswall and spent a wonderful last evening in 2020 together with my supervisor and her family. Firstly, we had some tea with a delicious carrot cake and after that we ate Dinner together. In the evening we watched a panto show on TV. (https://www.tripsavvy.com/what-is-pantomime-or-panto-1661664) That was fun!

I went to bed at 11.15pm and just heard the fireworks at midnight in my dreams.


Today is the first day of 2021 and the first day of my time here in Heswall. I can’t wait for all the experiences ahead of me.


HAPPY NEW YEAR!

92 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

My faith journey

Love Wirral

Beitrag: Blog2_Post
bottom of page